Illinois Distracted Driving Lawyers: Hassakis & Hassakis
Distracted Driving Laws in Illinois
Unlike in some neighboring states, texting and driving, or indeed having a phone in one's hand, is illegal in Illinois. Drivers can use phones if they are in a hands-free mode (hooked up to Bluetooth, a headset, or more modern car infotainment systems that integrate with smartphones, for example) or in specific cases such as reporting an accident or other emergency situation.
The state of Illinois has recently increased penalties for those caught driving while using a cell phone. First offenses, which were previously considered non-moving violations for purposes of insurance and driving records, are, as of a law signed by then-Governor Bruce Rauner in 2018, now all considered moving violations. Drivers are fined $75 for a first offense, with penalties increasing $25 for each subsequent offense up to the fourth ticket for distracted driving. Drivers who receive three distracted driving violations within a 365-day period will have their license suspended.
An additional law, signed by Governor J.B. Pritzker in 2019, stiffens the penalties for those who cause a serious accident while driving distracted. The law creates a criminal charge known as "aggravated use of an electronic communication device", and the severity of the charge depends on the severity of the accident. If the accident resulted in "great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to another person", that person will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a punishment of up to a year in jail and a maximum $2,500 fine. If an Illinois distracted driving accident resulted in death, the driver at fault faces a Class 4 felony, punishable by anywhere from one to three years in prison and a fine of no more than $25,000. Additionally, anyone charged under this law will see their license suspended for one year.
Your Southern Illinois Distracted Driving Accident Lawyers
For more than 70 years, Southern Illinois residents have trusted Hassakis & Hassakis to get them a measure of justice and the compensation they are entitled to following all types of personal injury accident. Our Illinois distracted driving attorneys are ready to talk to you following an accident and get to work investigating your claim, taking on insurance companies, and securing you a just, fair settlement.
When you or someone you care about has been injured in a Southern Illinois car accident caused by a driver who was not paying attention to the road at the time, call (618)-244-5335 or contact us online. A member of our team will be in contact with you as soon as possible to schedule a no-charge review of your case.